Virginia Patient Navigators

What is a Patient Navigator?

Patient navigators help people “navigate” through the health care continuum – such as doctors’ offices, clinics, hospitals, outpatient centers, insurance and payment systems, and patient-support organizations. They provide personal guidance to patients as they move through the health care system. Patient navigators work with patients and families to help with needs such as insurance problems, finding doctors, explaining treatment and care options, going with patients to visits, communicating with their health care team, assisting caregivers, and managing medical paperwork.

This is not an exhaustive list of navigator duties, and all patient navigators do not do all of these things. Navigator duties are determined by the organization they work for. Patient navigators may also be called a nurse navigator, oncology navigator, coordinator, case manager, or resource person. Navigators may be a nurse or social worker or other trained person. You can ask your healthcare provider when you are diagnosed for the navigator’s contact information. If you need help on your breast cancer journey, give your local patient navigator a call.

Central VA

Mary Saunders
Breast Health Nurse
804-523-2303
msaunders@paredesinstitute.com
Ellen Shaw de Paredes Institute for Women’s Imaging
4480 Cox Road, Suite 100
Glen Allen, VA 23060

Karen Gregory
Community Health Education Coordinator/ Resource Navigator
804-863-0220
kmgregory@vcu.edu
VCU Massey Cancer Center
Crater Health District
The Crater Health District serves the cities and counties of Dinwiddie, Emporia, Greensville, Hopewell, Petersburg, Prince George, Surry and Sussex.

Elizabeth Carter
Oncology Nurse Navigator
804-452-3271
elizabeth.carter4@hcahealthcare.com
John Randolph Medical Center
411 W. Randolph Road, Hopewell, Virginia

Sara Rakestraw
Oncology Patient Navigator
804-893-8614
sara_rakestraw@bshsi.org
Bon Secours Richmond Health System Oncology
14051 St. Francis Blvd, Suite 2210
Midlothian, Virginia 23114

Susanne Colligon
Director of the Cancer Program
804-543-7825
susanne.colligon@hcahealthcare.com
CJW Thomas Johns Cancer Center
1401 Johnston Willis Drive
Richmond, VA 23235

Michelle Mahlan-DuBois
Cancer Nurse Navigator
804-828-5024
mmahlan-dubois@mcvh-vcu.edu
1300 E. Marshall Street
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0292

Lori McNulty
Oncology Nurse Navigator
804-765-5095
lori_mcnulty@chs.net
1401 Johnston Willis Drive
TJCH Office 4
Richmond, VA 23235

Nueva Vida Patient Navigator Program
Specializing in Latin/Hispanic Community
804-267-6066
info@nueva-vida.org
1401 Johnston Willis Drive
TJCH Lobby Office 4
Richmond, VA 23235

Tracey Tatum
Breast Cancer Coordinator
804-330-2033
Tracey.Tatum@HCAHealthcare.com
CJW Thomas Johns Cancer Center
1401 Johnston Willis Drive
Richmond, Virginia 23235

Amanda Vea
Cancer Nurse Navigator, Breast Health
804-828-5024
avea@vcu.edu
1300 E. Marshall Street
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0292

Tidewater

Yvonne Pike
Breast Cancer Patient Navigator/ Supervisor-Oncology Navigation
757-594-4229
yvonne.pike@rivhs.com
Riverside Cancer Care Center
12100 Warwick Blvd., Suite 101
Newport News, Virginia 23601

Belinda Risher
Breast Cancer Nurse Navigator
757-594-1939
bxrisher@sentara.com
Sentara Dorothy G. Hoefer Comprehensive Breast Center
11803 Jefferson Ave, Suite 13
Newport News, Virginia 23606

Patricia Thornton
Breast Navigator
757-261-5404
pfthornt@sentara.com
Sentara Leigh Comprehensive Breast Center
880 Kempsville Road, Suite 1200
Norfolk, Virginia 23502

Robin Boothe
Colorectal Coordinator
757-333-1382
robin_boothe@bshsi.org
Bon Secours Oncology Services
3636 High Street
Portsmouth, Virginia

Laurie Jesz
Breast Program Coordinator / Nurse Navigator
757-541-1902
laurie_jesz@bshsi.org
Bon Secours Millie Lancaster Women’s Center
5838 Harbour View Blvd., Ste 210
Suffolk, Virginia 23435

Northern VA

Kerstin Perini
Patient Navigator, Cancer Services
703-558-5566
kperini@virginiahospitalcenter.com
Virginia Hospital Center
1701 N George Mason Drive
Arlington, Virginia 22205

Carrie Friedman
Oncology Navigation Manager, Thoracic Oncology Navigator
703-776-3777
carrie.friedman@inova.org
Inova Comprehensive Cancer and Research Institute
3300 Gallows Road
Falls Church, Virginia 22042

Regina Kenner
Cancer Navigator Program Coordinator
540-741-1769
regina.kenner@mwhc.com
Mary Washington Healthcare Regional Cancer Center
1300 Hospital Drive
Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Lori Rudolph
Breast Care Nurse Navigator
703-639-9494
Laurie.Rudolph@HCAHealthcare.com
Reston Hospital Center
1850 Town Center Parkway
Reston, Virginia 20190

Laura Pole
Integrative Cancer Care Navigator
540-890-7289
Lpchef@earthlink.net
Integrative Cancer Care Navigator
1632 U St., NW
Washington, DC
20009
www.smithcenter.org/integrative-patient-navigation.html

Julie Pierce
Nurse Navigator
703-523-1599
jppierce@sentara.com
Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center, Cancer Administration
2300 Opitz Blvd
Woodbridge, Virginia 22191

Valley

Faith Havran
American Cancer Society Patient Resource Navigator
434-243-6233
faith.havran@cancer.org
University of Virginia -Emily Couric Clinical Cancer Center
Education and Support Services
1240 Lee Street
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903

Mary Beth Revak
Breast Health Liason
434-654-4483
mary.revak@mjh.org
Martha Jefferson Outpatient Care Center, Mammography
595 Peter Jefferson Parkway
Charlottesville, Virginia

Meg Shrader, BSN, RN, CBCN
Breast Navigator
540-332-5072
mshrader@augustahealth.com
Augusta Health Oncology
78 Medical Center Drive
Fishersville,Virginia 22939

Deanna Lam
Breast Cancer Navigator
540-437-6933
ddlam@sentara.com
RMH Healthcare Women’s Center
530 Neff Avenue
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22801
www.rmhcancercenter.com/HahnCancerCenter/CancerCenter.asp

Kara Lamb
Oncology Nurse Navigator, GYN cancers
434-200-5127
kara.lamb@centrahealth.com
Centra’s Pearson Cancer Center, Oncology Administration
1701 Thomson Drive
Lynchburg, Virginia 24501

Western VA

Deb Graham
Diagnostic Navigator
434-822-7942
Piedmont Surgery
159 Executive Drive, Suite B
Danville, VA 24540

Susan Mathena
Community Health Educator
434-766-6649
jsmathena@vcu.edu
VCU Massey Cancer Center Office for Community Research and Education- Danville
150 Slayton Avenue
Danville, Virginia 24540

Amber Motley
434-250-9427
amotley@pathsinc.org
Patient Navigator PATHS
705 Main Street
Danville, VA 24541

Karen Stadler
Director Imaging Services
434-799-2112
karen.stadler@lpnt.net
Danville Regional Medical Center, Radiology
142 South Main Street
Danville, VA 24541

Susan Henderson
Patient Navigator & Clinical Marketing
276-666-7561
Susan.Henderson@LPNT.net
Julius Hermes Breast Care Center
Ravenel Oncology Center
Memorial Hospital of Martinsville and Henry County
Martinsville, VA 24112-4788

Linda Minter, R.N
276-666-7838
Linda.minter@lpnt.net
Ravenel Oncology Center
Memorial Hospital of Martinsville and Henry County
Martinsville, VA 24112-4788

Southwest VA

Leigh Ann Bolinskey
Director, Mountain Laurel Cancer Support & Resource Center
276-523-4202
lkennedy@meoc.org
Mountain Empire Older Citizens, Inc
Mountain Laurel Center
P.O. Box 888
Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219

The Virginia Breast Cancer Foundation is a non-profit organization committed to the eradication of breast cancer through education and advocacy.

Virginia Breast Cancer Foundation
5004 Monument Avenue
Suite 102
Henrico, VA 23230

800-345-8223 | 804-285-1200

BBB Logo

Make a Donation.

Follow VBCF:

facebooktwitterpinterestlinkedinyoutube

Breast Cancer News