Nancy G. Dopp Volunteer of the Year Award

About the Award:

The Nancy G. Dopp Volunteer of the Year Award is a statewide award that recognized a volunteer or group of volunteers whose contributions of time, energy or talents had a significant impact for VBCF during the previous year. The award was given in memory of Nancy Dopp, a VBCF member who selflessly gave her time and efforts to help VBCF for many years, until she lost her battle with breast cancer in 1998.

VBCF continues to recognize our volunteers in Nancy’s memory through the “Nancy Dopp Volunteer Spotlight” in each print newsletter, and through continued highlights and features in our monthly ENews and on our social media.

About Nancy G. Dopp:

Nancy Gladden Dopp graduated from Alfred State College in Alfred, NY.  She was married to James M. Dopp and had three children.  She was a charter member of the Virginia Breast Cancer Foundation (VBCF) and also served on the board of directors for six years. Nancy was the type of person who volunteered for the routine chores that are critical to a smoothly operating organization.  She spent many hours in the VBCF office answering the phones, going through messages and organizing reports.  In 1991, she set up a phone tree for state advocacy efforts and kept it up to date over the years.  Nancy was the first recipient (1992) of VBCF’s Volunteer of the Year Award. The award was renamed in her honor after her passing in February 1998 following a 20 year battle with breast cancer. Her quiet strength and her sincere unwavering support of VBCF contributed to the fight against breast cancer more than she ever knew.

Award Recipients:

  • 1992 – Nancy G. Dopp (Central VA)
  • 1993 – Lewanda Bruce (Central VA)
  • 1994 – Ann Wilson (Peninsula)
  • 1995 – Phyllis Tyzenhouse
  • 1996 – Jessie Barrack, Teresa Cernich, Elizabeth Chancey, Laura Cooper & Sharon Talarico (Central Virginia)
  • 1997 – Mauri Whitehurst
  • 1998 – Jennie Davies (Peninsula)
  • 1999 – Christine Lawrence (Peninsula)
  • 2000 – Barbara Geisler (Central VA)
  • 2001 – Jennifer Robertson (Central VA)
  • 2002 – Eunice McMillan (Hampton Roads)
  • 2003 – Brenda Martin (Central VA)
  • 2004 – Sudie Stultz (Peninsula)
  • 2005 – Becky Morris (Central VA)
  • 2006 – Frank Poynter (Southwestern VA)
  • 2007 – Karin Decker Noss (Northern VA)
  • 2008 – Beblon Parks (Central VA)
  • 2009 – Joy Galloni (Central VA)
  • 2010 – Mary Saunders (Central VA)
  • 2011 – Bodina Wright (Peninsula)
  • 2012 – Kathy Funk (Central VA)
  • 2013 – Maggie Powers (Blue Ridge)
  • 2014 – Gay Rudis (Central VA)
  • 2015 – CJ George & Anita Smith (Central VA)